FEDERAL GOVERNMENT (to be updated)

St. Kitts and Nevis is a sovereign democratic state within the British Commonwealth of Nations with a federal system of government. A major step in
the organization of the current Government occurred more than one hundred years ago when, in 1871, St. Kitts and Nevis, as individual members of
the federated Leeward Islands of Great Britain, were organized into "Presidencies," each with its own Administrator and Legislative Council. In 1882,
Nevis, St. Kitts and Anguilla were combined into a single Presidency.

In February 1967, the islands became a State in Association with the United Kingdom, a status which provided for full internal self-government.
However, Anguilla seceded three months later and reverted to direct British colonial rule. The Anguilla Consequential Provisions Order (1982)
formally acknowledged the separation of Anguilla from the State, which is now known as St. Kitts and Nevis or, alternatively, is called St. Christopher
and Nevis or the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis or the Federation of St. Christopher and Nevis. The St. Kitts and Nevis Constitution Order of 1983
terminated the status of Association with the United Kingdom and provided for the establishment of a fully sovereign and democratic state in that
same year.

Under the new Constitution, the Governor-General is Her Majesty's Representative in the state, and, except where otherwise provided, the
Governor-General is required to act in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister under the general authority of the Cabinet. The Cabinet
consists of the Prime Minister, the other Ministers, and, at any time his office is a Public Office, the Attorney General ex officio. The Governor General
appoints as Prime Minister a member of the House of Assembly who appears likely to command a majority in that House. The other Ministers are
appointed from among the members of the House on the advice of the Prime Minister.

Legislative power is vested in Parliament which comprises the House of Assembly with 11 representatives, chosen from single member constituencies
on the basis of universal suffrage, and three members who are appointed (two on the advice of the Prime Minister and one on the advice of the
Leader of the Opposition); if one of the appointed members is the Attorney General, then there are four nominees. Executive power is vested in the

The Federal Government is presently organized as follows:

Hon. Denzil L. Douglas- Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Development, Planning and National Security
Hon. Sam Condor - Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Trade, Labour, Social Security, CARICOM Affairs, Telecommunications and
Hon. Earl Asim Martin - Minister of Health and Environment
Hon. Dwyer Astaphan - Minister of Tourism, Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Hon. Rupert Herbert - Minister of Social Development, Community and Gender Affairs
Hon. Jacinth Henry-Martin - Minister of Information, Culture, Youth and Sports
Hon. Timothy Harris - Minister of Foreign Affairs and Education
Hon. Cedric Liburd - Minister of Agriculture, Cooperatives, Fisheries, Lands and Housing
Hon. Delano Bart - Attorney-General and Minister of Justice and Legal Affairs
Hon. Halva Hendrickson - Minister of Public Works, Utilities, Transport and Posts


The island of Nevis has its own legislature and administration and also return members (currently three elected representatives) to the Federal House
of Assembly in St. Kitts. Nevisian parliamentarians are therefore able to hold dual ministerial portfolios, one in the Federal administration and the
other in the Nevis local administration. The Governor General appoints a Deputy Governor General for the island of Nevis.

There is a Nevis Island Assembly whose members are elected one from each of five electoral districts, plus at least three appointed members, but
appointees are not to exceed two-thirds of the total number of representatives. One-third of the appointed members are selected by the Leader of
the Opposition and the others by the Premier.

The Nevis Island Administration (NIA) is led by the Premier who is appointed by the Deputy Governor General. The Deputy Governor General, acting
upon the advice of the Premier, also appoints ministers of Government from among members of the Assembly. These ministers, along with the
Premier, form the Nevis Cabinet.

The NIA, in accordance with the provisions of relevant laws, is responsible for the following areas: airports and seaports, education, extraction and
processing of minerals, fisheries, health and welfare, labor, Government lands and buildings, and the licensing of imports and exports.

The Nevis Island Administration is presently organized as follows:

Hon. Vance W. Amory - Premier, Minister of Finance, Education, Human Resource, Labour,  Economic Planning & Development, Trade & Industry,
Youth & Sports
Hon. Malcolm E. Guishard.  - Minister of Tourism and Culture, Telecommuncations and Informatics, Agriculture, Lands, Housing, Cooperatives and
Hon. Jean C. Harris - Minister of Health, Gender and Social Affairs
Hon. Michael Perkins - Minister of Communications, Works, Public Utilities and Post, Physical Planning, Natural Resources and Environment
Hon. Livingstone Herbert - Junior Minister for Agriculture, Lands, Cooperatives and Fisheries, with responsibility for Education & Library Services
Hon. Laughton Brandy - Junior Minister for Youth & Sports, Community Affairs, Trade & Industry
Return to Utilities & Key Agencies Page
Return to Home Page