Extracts from Sections 17 -19 of the 2005 Nevis Disaster Plan (draft)


17. The supervisory functions of the Disaster Management Committee will normally be carried out by the Emergency Executive Committee which comprises:

Honourable Premier   Chairman
Permanent Secretary, Premier   Deputy Chairman
Director – Nevis Disaster Management Office  – Secretary
Permanent Secretary – Finance
Medical Officer of Health
Health Disaster Coordinator
Principal  Education Officer
Superintendent of Police
Director of Agriculture
Director  of Public Works
Manager, Nevis Electricity Company Ltd. (NEVLEC)
Manager, Water Department
Manager, Nevis Solid Waste Authority
Director Tourism
Representative Chamber of Commerce

Other persons from the public and private sectors will be co opted, as necessary.

18. The Emergency Executive Committee will be responsible for the appoint¬ment of Chairman of all management sub committees as well as implementing the plans
and policies of the Disaster Management Committee and the National Emergency Management Agency.

19. The Nevis Emergency Executive Committee will meet at least once a quarter or as required. The NEEC can also be activated in the event of a critical Emergency,
as directed by the Chairman.
Return to Home Page
Return to Previous Page