Extracts from Sections 13 -16 of the 2005 Nevis Disaster Plan (draft)


13. The general direction and control of the Committee resides with the Honourable Premier of Nevis.

14. Membership of the Committee is as follows:

Honourable Premier - Chairman
Permanent Secretary, Premier & Human Resources - Deputy Chairman
Director – Nevis Disaster Management Office - Secretary
Legal Adviser
Permanent Secretary - Agriculture, Lands, Housing, Cooperatives & Fisheries
Permanent Secretary - PPNRE/CWPUP
Permanent Secretary - Finance
Permanent Secretary - Education & Library Affairs
Permanent Secretary - Tourism, Culture, Telecommunications & Informatics
Permanent Secretary - Health, Gender & Social Affairs
Principal Assistant Secretary - Youth, Sports, Community Affairs, Trade & Industry
Medical Officer of Health
Superintendent of Police - Police Division (Nevis)
Director - Press and Government Information
Director - Physical Planning, Natural Resources & Environment
Manager - Nevis Electricity Company Ltd. (NEVLEC)
Representative - Lion's Club
Representative - Rotary Club
Representative - Red Cross Society
Representative - Chamber of Commerce (Nevis Chapter)
Representative - Telecommunications


The main function of the Nevis Disaster Management Committee is to ensure that the island is in a state of preparedness at all times. Its areas of planning will include:

- Collaboration with the National Emergency Management Agency.
- Co ordination of the activities of District Emergency Organizations in the island.
- Arrangements for relief aircraft and ships, including customs clearance for relief supplies and personnel.
- Storage and control of relief supplies and equipment.
- Public information and press briefings.
- Warning systems, warning dissemination, responsibility for and control of local broadcasting.
- Disaster plans, emergency shelters and promulgation of plans.
- Transport and equipment requirements.
- Direction of labour
- Entry control of non essential visitors.
- Advising the National Emergency Management Agency on the requirement for anticipatory orders under the Emergency Powers Act.
- Post disaster reconnaissance and reports.
- Post disaster demolition and repairs

16. All correspondence concerning the Management Committee should be addressed to:

The Secretary
Nevis Disaster Management Committee
Nevis Disaster Management Office
Return to Home Page
Return to Previous Page